He’s Just Not That Into You

February 7, 2009

So, K and A and I met up to see He’s Just Not That Into You and despite it being a “for the masses” chick-flick with no real depth whatsoever, it was kinda cute. It tried to send a very important message, but ultimately failed. Cute girl can’t quite figure out that certain guys just aren’t “into” her and so she cyber stalks and does retarded stuff like make passes at this guy who’s totally not into her.  She humiliates herself throughout, until the end, when she finally “wins” said guy who wasn’t that into her, but who changed his mind after she lays a heavy guilt trip on him for being so emotionally detached to the whole ritual of dating. Please. This makes no f’ing sense and sends the wrong message to women in general: keep humiliating yourselves, girls, you will still win that dreamy guy in the end.

And that’s just the tip of the iceberg. I was also grossly disappointed in how it portrayed women as only after men, sex and marriage. Hello! Why not at least have one of the characters be an investment banker with a penchant for rock climbing? While there’s a grain of truth to everything, even nonsensical romantic comedies like this one, it never ceases to amaze me how many people buy into this kind of fantasy more so than not. It’s Disney-esque silliness if you ask me, which keeps perpetuating the story of Cinderella over and over and over again. I know I sound rather bitter. Some might even suspect that I need to get laid…but come on, people. The whole Prince Charming bullshit was so 1950’s.

I hate Hollywood. 

Afterwards, wasn’t much better. We went out for drinks at G’s in C’Wood. A and K at one point both kinda ganged up on me and basically made me feel like whatever it is I’ve been doing my whole life, I’ve been doing all wrong. I’ve been mis-reading signs. Not seeing red flags, and blah, blah, blah. They’re probably right. And all along I thought I was carving out this heroic life for myself and trying to be the best me that I could possibly be…

2 Responses to “He’s Just Not That Into You”

  1. Ani Smith Says:

    I’m sad to see Jennifer Connelly amongst that rag tag team of rom com capitalists. The economy really must be in dire straits.

  2. sevenperfumes Says:

    I was so disappointed. Especially when I found out it was a Drew Barrymore production. Ack.


Leave a Reply

